Everything Can Be Transformed

Regret becomes wisdom; fear becomes awareness; resistance becomes acceptance; resentment becomes compassion; ego becomes humility; self-hatred becomes dignity; judgement becomes forgiveness; grief becomes joy; greed becomes emptiness; addiction becomes sobriety; passion becomes equanimity; separation becomes reconciliation; frustration becomes patience; delusion becomes insight; denial becomes honesty; isolation becomes interdependence; self-centredness becomes lovingkindness. Every one of our ‘character defects’ can be transformed into its opposite through meditation and practicing the Buddhist and 12 Step dharma; and what is revealed by this is our basic goodness. Once I knew in my heart that everything could be transformed from samsara to nirvana, from suffering to liberation, I had no reason to fear life anymore, and the promises of the 12 Steps came true.


Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out / Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out / Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out / Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out / Change )

Connecting to %s